SBS Bank Hawkins

Canterbury to host South Island Secondary School Girls Rugby Tournament

25 Sep 2016

Canterbury School Girls Photo - Last year's Canterbury Secondary School Girls Team, South Island Champions for 2015

Canterbury will play host to the South Island’s best school girl rugby talent over the next three days, with teams from Otago, Southland, Tasman and Hanan Shield Districts heading to Canterbury to take on the defending champions in the South Island Seconday School Girls Rugby Tournament.

Canterbury will actually field two teams in the competition, with the South Island Junior and Teenage Rugby Board agreeing to a second “Development” team from Canterbury.

The Canterbury A team will be coached by Tevita Siulangapo and Katie Stanton, and Patrick Coady and Anna McCone will be coaching the Canterbuy Development team. Suilangapo says the inclusion of two local teams is great news for the women’s rugby in the region.

“A tournament like this allows players to develop their game under different coaches and against some really tough opposition, so this means that even more Canterbury school players will get that opportunity this year and hopefully that results in more of the girls choosing to carry on with the game after secondary school,” Suilangapo said.

The South Island Secondary School Girls Rugby Tournament will be held from 25 to 27 September.  Players are selected out of the UC Cup schools competition.

The tournmament is to be held at Bob Deans Fields, North Hagley Park, Sunday 25th September - Tuesday 27th September. First games on Sunday kick 0ff at 10.30am.

Download the full programme here: south-island-secondary-school-girls-booklet-2016.pdf


Canterbury Secondary School Girls Team list 2016: 

  Canterbury School Girls - A Canterbury School Girls - Development
1 Jaidyn Busch – CGHS Rosa Samuelu - Burnside
2 Tineka Wanoa – Forward Foundation Maria Crichton – Hillmorton HS
3 Harmony Simaile – Avonside Daisy Sekai – Catholic Cathedral College
4 Pip Pendergrast – Forward Foundation Kezia Fowler-Blyth - CGHS
5 Gemma Thornley – Lincoln HS Brianna James - CGHS
6 Julie Briden – Forward Foundation Lucy Cahill – Forward Foundation
7 Laura Thomas - CGHS (C) Sarita De Gouw – Rangi Ruru
8 Lucy Jenkins – Forward Foundation Bailey Avei - Avonside
9 Rosie Kelly – CGHS Brooke Mitchell
10 Issy Waterman - Riccarton Naia Toaolani-Holden - CGHS
11 Martha Lolohea Alice Dalzell – CGHS
12 Grace Brooker – CGHS (VC) Molly Simpson – CGHS
13 Islay Fowler – Forward Foundation Zoe Levien – CGHS
14 Easter Savelio – Linwood Michaelee McDonald - Papanui
15 Mel Puckett – Forward Foundation Angelina Reason – Lincoln HS
16 Jade Riley Brown Josie Pile – CGHS
17 Latai Kaufusi – Forward Foundation Amy Milnes
18 Isabella Carter – Rangi Ruru Jayda Siyakurima – Catholic Cathedral College
19 Bella Digby – Avonside Chloe McManus – Forward Foundation
20 Skye Taylor – Forward Foundation Paige Hunter – Forward Foundation
21 Freya Aldridge - Burnside Sharlene Brown
22 Lupe Manu - Riccarton Salome Naiku - CGHS

Results Day 1 - Sunday 25th September: 2016-si-secondary-schools-tournament-results-day-1.pdf

Results Day 2 - Monday 26th September: 2016-si-secondary-schools-tournament-results-day-2.pdf

Results Day 3 - Tuesday 27th September: 2016-si-secondary-schools-tournament-results-day-3.pdf

Links Referenced

Site by Orbital Ltd